List of Energy Deregulated States in the United States

Energy Deregulation – gives you the power to switch your electricity or natural gas supplier and ultimately affects how much you will pay for your energy. Deregulation gives consumers a choice when it comes to their energy supplier.

State Electricity Gas
Alabama No No
Alaska No No
Arizona No (Suspended) No
Arkansas No (Suspended) No
California No (Suspended) Yes (Limited)
Connecticut Yes No
Colorado No Yes (Pilot)
Delaware Yes No
Florida No Yes (Pilot)
Georgia No Yes (Pilot)
Hawaii No No
Idaho No No
Illinois Yes Yes (Pilot)
Indiana No Yes (Pilot)
Iowa No No
Kansas No No
Kentucky No Yes (Pilot)
Louisiana No No
Maine Yes No
Maryland Yes Yes (Pilot)
Massachusetts Yes No
Michigan Yes Yes (Pilot)
Minnesota No No
Mississippi No No
Missouri No No
Montana Yes Yes (Pilot)
Nebraska No Yes (Pilot)
Nevada No (Suspended) No
New Hampshire Yes No
New Jersey Yes Yes
New Mexico No (Suspended) Yes (Limited)
New York Yes Yes
North Carolina No No
North Dakota No No
Ohio Yes Yes (Pilot)
Oklahoma No No
Oregon Yes No
Pennsylvania Yes Yes
Rhode Island Yes No
South Carolina No No
South Dakota No Yes (Pilot)
Tennessee No No
Texas Yes No
Utah No No
Vermont No No
Virginia No (Suspended) Yes (Pilot)
Washington No Yes (Partial)
Washington DC Yes Yes
West Virginia No Yes (Limited)
Wisconsin No No
Wyoming No (Suspended) Yes (Pilot)